Légendes boréales





A Créations In Vivo production
2010-2012 • General audiences

Four traditional fantasy stories are adapted for the stage with three artists from various artistic disciplines (storytelling, music, ground and aerial acrobatics, hand to hand). All this to better tell these stories from this part of the world!

The Stories

Tale 1: The Puppets • A violin player is invited to go cut down trees all winter at the Sirois camp. On site, the six loggers have a very good time right up until Christmas. What was once thought to be a very simple camp is now turning into a diabolical place where the music of the violin can make puppets dance (the traditional name given to the northern lights).

Tale 2: The Polar Night • A long time ago, the Inuit were the happiest people on earth. Everything was a source of joy. During the day they enjoyed the sunlight and at night they enjoyed the moonlight. Everyone was happy except three of them: Itouk, Kakouk and Marouk. They were lazy loved to fight. One day, when they were bored, they decided to attack the sun. The sun got angry and decided to hide from them six months a year and leave them with its sister the moon for the other six months.

Tale 3: Lafontaine’s Wolf • At the beginning of the century, the arrival of a wolf created major changes in the small French-speaking village of Lafontaine. Before its arrival, the village was divided according to the origin of the people who lived there. The village found itself a common enemy in this wolf, which brought the families closer together.

Tale 4: The Creation of the Word • According to several Indigenous legends, at the beginning of time, man lived under the earth. His universe was what he saw: stone, stone and more stone. But it happened that one of them, Look-at-the-Moon, decided to follow his instinct and go up through a crack to find the white ball he saw in his dreams: the moon. His ascension tells the story of the awakening of men from darkness to light.

Artistic team

Playwright: Stéphane Guertin

Director: André Perrier
Set designers: Fanny Gauthier, Stéphane Guertin et Michèle Ostiguy
Costumes designer: Vivianne Lacombe
Puppet designer: Annie Durocher
Lighting designer: Jonathan Lockhart
Sound designers: Dominique Saint-Pierre et Olivier Fairfield
Photos: Marianne Duval
Production’s assistant: Marie Ripoll

Actors: Catherine Joly, Ruynosuke Yamazumi et Stéphane Guertin

Prizes

  • The show won the Prix Coup de Foudre Scolaire at Contact Ontarois in January
  • One of the tales of the show was chosen to represent Canada at the 7th Jeux de la Francophonie in Nice, France in 2013 and won the Gold medal in Storytelling.

Légendes boréales





Une production de Créations In Vivo
2010-2012 • Tout public

Quatre contes fantastiques traditionnels d’ici sont adaptés pour la scène avec trois artistes de diverses disciplines artistiques (conte, musique, acrobatie au sol et aérienne, main à main). Le tout, au services de ces histoires bien de chez nous!

Les contes

Conte 1: Les marionnettes • Un joueur de violon est invité à aller bucher du bois tout l’hiver au camp de Sirois. Sur place, les 6 bûcherons passeront du très bon temps jusqu’à ce qu’arrive noël. Ce qu’on croyait être un camp très simple se transforme plutôt en lieu diabolique où le son du violon réussi à faire danser les marionnettes (nom traditionnel donné aux aurores boréales).

Conte 2: La nuit polaire • Il y a très longtemps, les esquimaux étaient le peuple le plus heureux de la terre. Tout était source de joie. Le jour, ils jouissaient de la lumière du soleil et la nuit, ils profitaient de la clarté de la lune. Tout le monde était heureux sauf trois d’entre eux : Itouk, Kakouk et Marouk. Ces derniers étaient paresseux et ne faisait que se chamailler. Un jour qu’ils s’ennuyaient, ils décidèrent d’attaquer le soleil. Le soleil se fâcha et décida d’aller les voir seulement six mois par année et de les laisser avec sa sœur la lune les autres six mois.

Conte 3: Le loup de Lafontaine • Au début du siècle, un loup est venu créer des changements majeurs dans le petit village francophone de Lafontaine. Avant son arrivée, le village était divisé selon l’origine des gens qui y habitaient. Le village s’est trouvé un ennemi commun en ce loup ce qui a permit de rapprocher les familles.

Conte 4: La création du monde • Selon plusieurs légendes autochtones, au début des temps, l’homme vivait sous la terre. Son univers se résumait à ce qu’il voyait : de la pierre, de la pierre et encore de la pierre. Mais il arriva qu’un d’entre eux, Regarde-la-lune décida de suivre son instinct et de remonter à travers une fissure pour retrouver la boule blanche qu’il voyait dans ses rêves : la lune. Son ascension raconte l’éveil des hommes des ténèbres jusqu’à la lumière.

Équipe de création

Texte: Stéphane Guertin
Mise en scène: André Perrier
Scénographie: Fanny Gauthier, Stéphane Guertin et Michèle Ostiguy
Costumes: Vivianne Lacombe
Marionnettes: Annie Durocher
Éclairage: Jonathan Lockhart
Environnement sonore: Dominique Saint-Pierre et Olivier Fairfield
Photos: Marianne Duval
Assistante de production: Marie Ripoll

Interprétation: Catherine Joly, Ruynosuke Yamazumi et Stéphane Guertin

Prix et distinctions

Le spectacle a remporté le Prix Coup de Foudre Scolaire lors de Contact Ontarois en janvier 2011.

De plus, un des contes du spectacle a été choisi pour représenter le Canada au Jeux de la francophonie à Nice en France à l’automne 2013.